Tags

, , ,

I’ve had a question on my mind lately, but I didn’t know it until I read the first chapter of a book that I was told about today.  Not even the first chapter, just the first paragraph and the first sentence of the second paragraph.

What if we swallowed little microphones so that we could all hear each other’s hearts beat?

The question that’s been on my mind has been something like what would my heartbeat sound like?

On my worst days, I think it sounds like two pieces of cinder block being scraped together in time with the lockstep march of inevitability.  On my best days, it’s like a cool brook that you stumble on just when you need to cool off on a summer’s day and gives space for a pausing between moments.

There’s been quite a lot of lockstep for the last few months.  Not constant, but more than necessary.

