I sang with Ensemble XXI last Sunday for an Evensong presentation. As always, it was quite a lot of fun and good to see friends there to listen and enjoy the peace of the moment.

My attitude, however, was not in keeping with the evening. For various reasons, I was frustrated and annoyed. Enough so that, during the Magnificat, I started singing a line from memory of a slightly different version of the piece. Luckily, I either wasn’t loud enough by far or the line I sang blended well with the rest of the choir as my musically inclined friends did not notice it at all. I doubt it went unnoticed by the choir members around me, though.

The irony is that the words in that section were about God exalting the humble and meek and putting down the proud. Seemed to fit my situation at that moment! 🙂

