Tags

,

I had one of those days.  I’m not really sure what started it, but at some point I found myself pretty upset about something.  Your guess is as good as mine what I was upset about, exactly.  We’ll do a choose your own adventure now from the following possibilities:

  • Rubio’s didn’t get my lunch order right, but it was still good.
  • I had a lot of people ask me perfectly valid questions in a very, very short time frame.
  • Just after lunch, it was clear that I didn’t have enough time to do all of the tasks on my list for the day.

Unlike other choose your own adventures, all of these lead directly to the very next paragraph.  Fooled you!

I took a walk at one point, texted friends who have a tendency to both make me smile and remind me what’s important.  I remembered during my walk that anger/rage is extremely self-centered.  My day wasn’t going well, never mind not knowing why, and therefore everyone should suffer.  Huh?  The things happening to me weren’t about me.  The lunch order wasn’t a personal attack.  People didn’t have questions intentionally lined up all to be asked during that one time frame.  And the unusual number of tasks was my own damn fault.

I felt better after that.  Still not a great day, but it’s hard to be angry at something like that when it isn’t about you.

As I was pulling out of my spot at work, I thought I was backing into a perfectly empty parking spot.  I wasn’t because it wasn’t a parking spot, it was a small driveway that had a tree near it which took a nice bite out of my rear spoiler, but nothing else was damaged that I’ve found yet.  That was sort of the kicker with nothing damaged but my pride.

But that was the big event.  For the rest of the evening, me and my bruised ego have been trying to somehow cover this up like a child covering a messy room by simply moving stuff into corners that parents can’t see from the doorway.  The mess is there, but they’ve probably done more work hiding it than cleaning it up.  I’ve been over-compensating for a perceived loss of status or usefulness or even attractiveness and all because of a meaningless bit of damage to my car.  That definitely gets a WTF.

Also, I’m looking forward to getting a new car, but not to buying one.  Even though my car is fine after today, it’s a reminder that the day is coming that, by all accounts, is not pleasant.  Even used, I don’t look forward to adding a monthly payment where one hasn’t been for so many years.  It’ll have to happen sooner or later, but still.

So, I had a day.  This isn’t so you feel sorry for me (there are a lot of people worse off than me).  If damage to my car and whatever made me upset earlier is that hard, well, I’m not sure I’d even want to know me.

This concludes your West Wing Taught Me Everything I Need to Know About Handling Problems for today.

