Tags

It’s finally Christmas.  Not to say that I’ve been waiting impatiently for the day, but it finally feels like a holiday now.  Feast of Lights started it for me, but the Christmas Eve service tonight really sent the idea home.  Nothing super-unusual about the service this year, it was much the same as past years in many ways.  But it finally felt like a Holy Day rather than just some days off, and that’s a lot for me.

The season has been otherwise dry in terms of the “holiday spirit” this year. I’ve had a lot of good times with friends, but I’m happy to say that this isn’t unusual in my life.  It isn’t like I have bad times with my friends the other 11 months of the year.  And so there isn’t much to differentiate Christmas from the rest.  Maybe that’s a good thing.  The monks at Valyermo know something of routine and if they’ve been doing it for hundreds of years (in their order, not necessarily at Valyermo), that says something.  But it also seems like there should be something this time of year that is different.

I’m not quite sure what that something is, but it showed up tonight and I’m glad it did.

