Tags

, , ,

Feast week started tonight.  Every night this week except for Thursday, I’ll being at the U of R singing in a rehearsal or presentation for the Feast of Lights.

Tonight went really well aside from one thing.  At first, I thought I was just being an ass.  After some reflection and putting things into perspective (I felt way too badly about maybe being an ass after rehearsal), I’ve realized that I wasn’t really at rehearsal tonight.  I walked when I was supposed to and sang when I was supposed to, but didn’t dive into the thing at all.  What a waste.

I have three more rehearsals to calm down just a bit and get my head into this thing.  On the one hand, I have music that clearly needs to be memorized.  On the other hand, I’m participating in something that is rich with meaning and significance.  I don’t want to get to the end and find out I missed out because I hadn’t let myself get swept away by it all. I may not find much depth, but I’d rather it not be because I didn’t leave myself open to the possibility.

