Tags

, ,

I just finished watching The Pursuit of Happyness. If you don’t want to be spoiled, stop reading. If you don’t care, click on.

Will Smith is a great actor. And he did a great job in this movie. I really felt like his life sucked. So much that I paused halfway through to make sure I wasn’t behind on any bills (even though I knew I wasn’t) and paid off my credit card a bit early just to be sure. Then I made sure I really did have as much money as my ledger says I do. Then I looked around and reminded myself that this was, in fact, my home with my stuff.

The movie itself was something I wish I hadn’t watched. This guy lived my worst fear. What was worse is that the movie ended just as things went well for the guy. Two hours of hell broken up into “this is the part of my life called…” statements followed by two minutes of moderate joy. At least show him living in a nice house or driving a nice car. Nothing, just him walking with his son like the rest of the movie, only this time he means it when he smiles. Oh yeah, and he landed a multi-million dollar deal ten years later, but we don’t get to see what the did for him lest it give the suffering that was the rest of the movie a sense of purpose.

Maybe I missed the point.

