Tags

, , , ,

This was easily the lowest-key Thanksgiving ever.  Even more so than trips to the monastery have been (though that’s typically the most contemplative, too).  A trip back to TC for lunch with my folks and grandpa, a trip home, and a round of 18 holes on the disc golf course (2 under par, but no witnesses and more than a fair share of mulligans).  I thought there might have been some dessert action tonight, but that never materialized.

Tomorrow is a sleep in day (read no alarm set, but I’ll still wake up at 6:30 and wonder why there isn’t a buzzing noise) followed by general laziness, a trip to get my own “whatever” for the party tomorrow night at the House of N and S.  Maybe I’ll get another round of golf in to work off the massive amounts of food I’ve been ingesting, too.  If anyone’s interested, call or text or just show up using your powers of telepathy to determine when others are there. 😉

And for the requisite “what I’m thankful for” bit: the worst thing to happen to me all year is that the power supply on my computer is dying.  And the replacement should be here Monday, so even that isn’t so bad.  And the girl I had my eye on in choir has a boyfriend, but that’s hardly a terrible thing.  Seriously, that’s the worst of my year.  I went to Comic Con for the first time with two of the greatest people I know and got hooked on Green Lantern.  I got a new apartment where I can sleep through the night without hearing music about how everyone who isn’t white should be killed in horribly brutal ways.

I’ve had a very blessed year and am very lucky to be able to say that.  I’d give it up in a heartbeat to see some of my friends not have the hard times they have had.  But since I can’t, I’m going to enjoy it as much as I can knowing I’d want them to do the same were our positions reversed.  And if I can somehow leak some of my good year over to theirs, all the better.

