Tags

, , , ,

I arrived safely in San Francisco.

One hour at 10,000 feet in the air to cover 600 miles. 30 minutes tops traveling along and under the Pacific Oceans. 500 feet of walking to my hotel where two VERY attractive women checked me into my room and gave me cookies, of all things (I’m just glad to have spoken coherently while I was at the front desk, butthe cookies were very nice, too).

I walked from my hotel to Fisherman’s Whar in about 30 minutes. It took 45 since I stopped to say hello to Grace Cathderal along the way. Up Nob Hill and back down snapping pictures the whole way (to be posted on my return). A good training walk for the hike in September. Total distance is probably about two miles one way. I walked nearly three with the sight-seeing at the Wharf. I’ll try to grab dinner there on Thursday when I can get there at a better hour for it.

Took the cable car back. $5 for a one way pass! I’ll be seeing about something a bit better priced tomorrow since my seminar is at the top of the hill. It’s a good walk, but not one I want to sweat through before the conference. πŸ˜‰

The city itself is nice. I like London better, but this is close. Some people aren’t as nice, but there are more people my age and so it feels slightly more comfortable.

I don’t think that I’ve ever seen so many ads for iPod, though. The entire BART station near my hotel must be sponsored by Apple or something.

I’m looking forward to a good day tomorrow. Hopefully I’ll also get to do some more sight-seeing and grab some chocolate to bring to my friends back home. Requests for flavors may be accepted if you comment in a timely fashion…

