Tags

,

‘Tis the season for me to get gifts for the people around me.  This is typically an easy thing to do.

Until this year.  I’ve had the hardest time both thinking of things to get people as well as finding the energy to go out and actually buy things (which is pointless since I don’t know what I’d buy in the first place).  As such, I may have to resort to the antithesis of my fundamental views on shopping: browsing store after store looking for that right thing for this person or the next.  I know I’ll get into it, but it’s hard to start and never feels pleasant to consider doing (I don’t know how some people manage to do this and maintain sanity).

But I have people I want to get gifts for, I just don’t know what they’ll be getting.  And, as always, it’s a fact that I won’t find something for everyone on my list.  Those gifts I do find this week will be hard won and all the more special to give for the effort involved.  Even if they’re gift cards (which still take a lot of effort for the crowds involved).

All of that said, it just doesn’t feel like Christmas time.  The weather may be part of it, but something’s been missing for me and I’m not quite sure what it is.

