Tags

, , , ,

Tonight, I did a very cool thing for the first time ever. I attended a meetup of Geek Brief viewers in the virtual world of Second Life. You can view a couple of snapshots here.

Topics ranged from hobbies to professions to programming languages and on and on and on. I had a good time and really hope they do this again soon.

Part of it was surreal, though. There I was, totally anonymous, talking with the host of a popular video podcast (which I happen to enjoy) about nothing in particular. Is this a bit of where community is headed? How long will it be before a church meets in a virtual world? Or you can vote in a virtual world? Or you go to work there? That’s assuming it hasn’t happened already (I’m betting it has).

What do friendships look like when you never meet face to face?

