Tags

, ,

I just received my issue of Time magazine for the week. I was rather appalled to see a picture of Abu Musab al-Zarqawi on the cover with a bloody, red X through his face.

I agree that he was not a good person and needed to be dealt with somehow. Given that the situation in Iraq is military in nature, it’s reasonable to assume that he was going to be killed eventually. While I don’t agree with the methods, I don’t fault the men and women who dropped the bombs for doing their jobs and doing what they believed to be the right thing.

I do, however, have a problem with the heyday this is getting in the media. Are we so bloodthirsty as to forget that this is a life ended? Regardless of the difference in beliefs, there is undoubtedly some family mourning his death just as much as we mourn the deaths of our soldiers. Have we sunk so far as to have lost respect for our enemies as our enemies even if they don’t have respect for us? To have such celebration in death even o four enemies?

There was a time when battles were fought with honor and the losers were respected for their courage and/or resolve. This enemy has neither honor nor courage, but they do have great resolve. It may be that the rules changed when airplanes crashed into two buildings in New York City, but I don’t remember us saying those changes were alright by us. Why have we started to play by those rules, I wonder? Do we really think we can win if we play by them? Our enemies haven’t.

