Tags

,

There’s a blog that started up last week. It’s from a father whose seven year old daughter died, unexpectedly, on February 22. He’s been blogging through his grief. I’ve been pondering when to link to him. Every time I read the recent posts, I find it hard not to break down (so I make an effort not to read this blog anywhere but at home). I wasn’t sure if I wanted to pass that kind of weight on to others.

But the more I thought about it, the more I realized that we need to read about this part of life. We need to share with each other our grief and in so doing ease that grief a little bit. This is the first time in human history where anyone can express grief and find friends and support from around the globe.

I hope beyond all hope that no one I know goes through this particular reason for grief. But this is a peek into how one man is working through his emotions with his family and the world around him. There is so much hope in his writing, so much happiness in the memories he shares of Elena, so much gratitude in what he has been given in his short time with his daughter.

The blog is located at http://dearelena.wordpress.com/. The first post is at http://dearelena.wordpress.com/2006/02/23/dear-elena/ and I suggest starting there and working your way up to the later ones. There is a story unfolding here that is worth stopping what you are doing, opening your soul, and listening.

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

