Tags

,

I saw something that saddened me while riding home from work today.

There are two older guys who are always walking around Redlands. They wear old school suits with really brightly colored vests that look great. One in a green vest, the other in a burnt yellow vest. I don’t know their names, but they are a part of Redlands to me. I see them so often when I’m out walking or going to and fro near downtown that they’ve nearly blended into the scenery and will be missed when they are gone. Mr. Green carries the look of authority between the two by my eyes, so Mr. Burnt Yellow has always appeared shy, but ready to leap to the ready.

The sad sight was of Mr. Burnt Yellow in a wheelchair being pushed by his partner. It’s the first time I’ve seen them not wearing their trademark suits; the first time I’ve thought that a day would come when they wouldn’t be walking endlessly around Redlands.

I don’t know who they are, but I will miss them when they depart for brighter shores.

Technorati Tags: , ,

