Tags

Today, as I right this, is the first Sunday in Advent. This is the season when the church reflects on how Christ draws near to us in our lives and our world. It’s also the start of the final week of rehearsal for the Feast of Lights next weekend. Lucky for me, the two dovetail nicely for things to think about.

The first week of Advent is about Hope (at least how we celebrate it, other churches may go in a different order). Specifically in how the hope that we hunger for is ultimately fulfilled in Jesus.

I’ve actually been thinking about this a bit for a while as a song we are singing in this year’s Feast has struck a chord with me as well. The song is, Tomorrow Shall Be My Dancing Day. The words are as follows:

Tomorrow shall be my dancing day
I would my true love did so chance
To see the legend of my play
To call my true love to my dance

Refrain
Sing O my love,
O my love, my love, my love
This have I done for my true love

Then was I born of a virgin pure
Of her I took fleshly substance
Thus was I knit to man’s nature
To call my true love to my dance
Refrain

In a manger laid and wrapped I was
So very poor this was my chance
Betwixt and ox and a silly poor ass
To call my true love to my dance
Refrain

Then afterwards baptized I was
The Holy Ghost on me did glance
My Father’s voice heard from above
To call my true love to my dance
Refrain

The picture of Jesus coming to call us to His dance is a lot of fun. I can’t help but smile and get an itch to start dancing, even though I have little skill. In my thoughts of late, I’ve been trying to ask what dance Jesus is calling me to today. The act of service and worship is really a dance of sorts, though not necessarily to any music we can hear. From the sheer organizational feats of the soup kitchens and Chistmas plays to the simple act of cleaning a friend’s home and dining with them, our souls spin around each other like partners on a dance floor.

For me, this is hope. I’ve had a couple of bad days in the past week. Nothing major, just blah stuff. On those days, it’s been helpful to think that tomorrow is a dancing day; that there is something bright coming on the horizon. In turn, today is a dancing day. The blah events of “today” are just part of the step for now and the best thing to do may be to dance the step anyway, enjoy the act of dancing even if it isn’t a joy at the moment, and live more fully in the hope we have that the step always changes to something new.

