Tags

Commander in Chief just finished on ABC. I have to say, I liked it. They’ve definitely taken a few cues from The West Wing, particularly seasons one and two. There’s a lot of, “What happens in the White House when…” besides the big one of the President dying in office.

One thing I don’t like is the audio work. Geena Davis sounds like she’s mumbling, something I never noticed from her in other roles, so I’m assuming it’s unique to this show. Not to mention the highly tinny sound that everyone’s voice takes on when they step behind a microphone. That may be some creativity going on, for all I know that’s what it sounds like in real life.

On the plus side, the family aspect is pretty cool and I was happy to see Bruce Boxleitner show up, even if it was only for this one episode. IMDB says it’s just a guest appearance though. Pity.

I’m looking forward to watching this during October. It’s already worth returning to during the rerun season, assuming ABC runs the reruns.

UPDATE: ABC has a “fansite” set up like some folks might do on their own. It’s almost entirely existing within the reality of the show.

Isn’t that something better left to the hard-core fans with nothing but free time? Is that hypocritical coming from a guy who found that at 10:30 on a Tuesday evening? Did some spaghetti and meatballs actually create the universe? All important questions for us to answer.

