Tags

I hear you!

I’m in the Ethics class as well. It’s definitely bringing up a lot of stuff for me. Case in point, Basic Convictions about God. I won’t go into too much detail here, but it was surprising that what probably would be the “norm” of the church as a whole, that God is Love, was pretty far down my list of first thoughts. It’s given me a lot to think about in my own convictions about things, the veracity or importance of their formation, and how to change things that aren’t helpful or healthy.

There are also these Moral Norms and Character Ethics “ladders” that I can’t get my head around quite yet. There are moves from Basic Conviction to Principles to Rules to Judgements that I haven’t nailed down. I think mostly because I’m not sure what is meant by Principles. Also, a similar continuum of Narrative Base to Embodied Virture to Normative Practive to Particular Deed. This is somewhat more familiar as it has distinct parallels to the inductive Bible study method I learned to love in college. Still, these are intellectually challenging for me to grasp right now.

