Tags

In my continuing thoughts on being intentional with other people over the last couple of weeks, I’ve had further thoughts.

The main one is that being intentional with everyone you know just isn’t possible. For one, I don’t have that kind of energy. Second, while I have many people I’d call friends or, at worst, acquaintances, the number of them that also express a similar desire to spend time with me (i.e. say yes when I ask if they’d like to do something) is rather limited in scope. As going after people who continually avoid the question or say no without saying no is huge drain to my energy and makes continued positive “self talk” difficult at best, I’m deciding to focus in on those who show that they enjoy or welcome my company in some fashion.

This isn’t to say that I’m writing off people who don’t express much, if any, interest in spending time with me. I just need to make sure that I also take care of myself. Since trying to get time with people who don’t seem to want to give it to me doesn’t do the psyche much good, it seems like an obvious choice to make.

We’ll see how that goes.

