Tags

For the last few months, I’ve been listening to my friends complain about back pain. I could never relate as I do not suffer from chronic pain in any area of my body, really. I have other chronic annoyances and discomforts, but not generally painful ones and not at all in my back. It’s lead to the feeling of not being able to relate to my friends when their pain gets incredibly harsh. For some, that happens often.

However, this morning, I awoke from my night’s sleep with pain in my back. I went about my morning’s tasks of exercise, checking email, watching the news, rituals of cleanliness and appearance with pain in my back. The only relief I had was while resting between my sets of crunches. At that point, my back was flat against the relatively hard floor and I felt waves of relaxation more overwhelming than the pain itself (which, in reality, wasn’t that bad).

So this may not be chronic, but it’s the first time since high school where my back was in pain like that. I don’t want chronic back pain, either. But it would be nice to be able to say, “I know what you mean” or just sympathize in general when my friends are in this pain as well. I don’t like not getting it when it doesn’t have to be that way.

