Tags

I just had my therapy session for this week. Absolutely amazing. I was able to share with the doctor about the self-talk that I discussed earlier and share some of the events that I saw triggering my more depressed states.

The doctor gave me some techniques to practice and information about these techniques to read up on. These come from the Institue of HeartMath and their book, The HeartMath Solution. In time, I will probably pick these up, but for now I’m going to stick to the information I got today.

To put it simply, I feel like I have been armed to defend, and even fight, against the thoughts that pop up that can rip me to shreds in quick order. I was lead through this technique this afternoon and could literally feel tension falling out of my body. And I didn’t even fully conquer anything. I can tell it’s still there. I can hear the voice of doubt. But I can stand apart from it, be objective, and speak back to it with confidence that the voice isn’t absolute.

The entire drive home, I’ve ready to laugh at just about anything. Something happened this afternoon that I hope I can get my brain around eventually. In the meantime, I’m going to enjoy this and I look forward to practicing these techniques more.

