Tags

plasticbag.org has a great article about how weblogging could be affecting and/or be a result of amatuerisation.

And this is the big leap forward – this is where the value of weblogs lies in the newly amateurised world. This flexibility of publishing creates a fluid and living form of self-representation, the ‘homepage (as a place)’ has become the ‘weblog (as a person)’ that can articulate a voice. And when there are a multiplicity of voices in space, then the possibility arises of conversations. And where there is conversation there is the sharing of information. And conversation about what? Well everything from music and movies and animation and medical information. Weblogs are becoming the bridge between the individual and the community in cyberspace – a place where one can self-publicise and self-describe but also learn, debate and engage in community. In other words, weblogs are not only a representative sample of mass amateurisation, they’re becoming enmeshed in the very structures of information-retrieval, community interaction and media distibution themselves. Weblogs are now facilitators of mass amateurisation. They’re almost becoming one of its architectures…

This is incredibly freeing! Probably one of my largest hangups about having a blog is that I’ve somewhere picked up the idea that to express myself on the web is to retreat from the real world (ignoring the fact that my closest friends are likely my only readers). On the contrary, this is one of the only places I have in life to share thoughts openly with any and all who will listen. Here I can be the extrovert that I never am anywhere else. And there is nothing to stop me. No one can give me a nasty look or reprimand me. My life can be out for all to see.

And maybe that will extend out from the substance of the web into the fabric of reality. Who knows?

